August 28, 2009

Summer Sanka Mix (Deux)

Summer Sanka Mix (Deux)
- right click to download

1. Electric Light Orchestra - Livin' Thing (Avalanches redux)
2. Instant Funk - Got My Mind Made Up (Avalanches redux + Spank Rock intro)
3. The Main Attraction - Everyday
4. Atlas Sound feat. Panda Bear - Walkabout
5. Beach Boys - You Still Believe in Me
6. Bullion feat. J Dilla - You Still Believe in Dee
7. Roy Ayers - Running Away
8. Kid Creole & the Coconuts - Stool Pigeon
9. Organ Morgan - Cocaine Afternoon
10. The Avalanches - Slow Walking
11. Tough Alliance - 25 Years and Runnin'
12. The Very Best - Yalira
13. Junior Byron - Dance to the Music (LCD Soundsystem redux)


1 & 2. part of When I Met You, a special compilation The Avalanches prepared to shed some light on their influences behind Since I Left You, with some Spank Rock and other intro flavorings added
3. backbone of the title track for Since I Left You, but like a lot of their sample selection it stands well enough on its own (more Avalanches source material here)
4. pretty chill
5. pretty chill
6. damn
7 & 8. you may know these beats from such hit songs as "Baby I Got Your Money" and the Troy McLure afterschool special "Lead Paint: Delicious but Deadly," respectively
9. pretty chill, more songs by Organ Morgan here
10. from the limited release 2001 At Last Alone comp (other rarities here)
11. easily the best summer band of 2k6 - 2k10, from their New Waves EP (video here)
12. buy the full length Warm Heart of Africa LP immediately ($8.99 bob digi)
13. intro is part of LCD Soundsystem's goggle-fogging FabricLive 36 mix, spliced with the original extended version for extra "ride on outability"

Also recommended:
Summer Sanka Mix
Buttery Soul Mix
Chocolate Bobkast #27
GvB Summer Mix

Keep reading...

August 20, 2009

Mrs. Cold

Slide on a ribbed pastel mock and peruse frozen prepared foods with this on blast.

Kings of Convenience - Mrs. Cold (from Declaration of Dependence, out October 2k9)


Kings of Convenience - I Don't Know What I Can Save You From (Mojib remix)

Keep reading...

August 14, 2009

Bumpin' with Ma Barker

When a female Depression-era outlaw becomes the inspiration for a hit 1977 disco single, which is then remade into an even funkier instrumental three decades later, only to become the backbone of the liveliest song on The Avalanches' 2001 classic Since I Left You, this person is worth knowing at least briefly.

Kate "Ma" Barker was left to raise four deliquents by herself, and later became an accomplice to her sons' spree of robberies, kidnappings and other crimes. Arthur was arrested for murder and Llyod for robbery, Herman committed suicide at a police roadblock, and Fred was gunned down with Mom in an FBI standoff in 1935. Without her shenanigans, though, we probably wouldn't have had Mama Fratelli from The Goonies, Ma Beagle from Ducktales, or the goggle-fogging beats below.

Boney M - Ma Bakes (Ma Baker re-edit)

The Avalanches - Live at Dominoes (from Since I Left You)

"Live at Dominoes" also includes a sample from Dimension 5ive by The 5th Dimension.

Thanks to Apache Cleo for the tip.

Fellows of the Royal Society (Lost Avalanches Vol. 1)
Since I Met You
Flight Tonight
Diners Only (Foam City Redux)

Keep reading...

August 6, 2009

Cocaine Afternoon

Grandparents shouldn't be disheartened by Organ Morgan's debut song/EP title or the "do you wanna have a party?" intro - his beats are as wholesome as ginger snaps, a nice pair of slacks, and robot insurance.

Organ Morgan - Cocaine Afternoon

As young Matthew Mayes explains: "it's very much in the same vein as The Avalanches, and was heavily inspired by their one and only album Since I Left You. I personally feel there wasn't and still isn't enough of this music around...other influences include The Go Team!, Lemon Jelly, Pepe Deluxe, Hot Chip, Passion Pit and artists that aren't scared to try something new and different for a great sound. I'm basically having a lot of fun cutting the summery bits out of all my old and dusty vinyl."

The Cocaine Afternoon EP isn't yet available for sale, so Mayes has kindly offered all three songs for download. Stay tuned for a 26-track Alphabet LP very soon.

Organ Morgan - Do Not Disturb

Organ Morgan - Broken Heart

(photo credit: Old Glory)

Fellows of the Royal Society (Lost Avalanches Vol. 1)
Since I Met You
Flight Tonight

Keep reading...